Book Haul: November 2017

Hi, readers!

Today I’m sharing the books I acquired throughout the month of November. There’s a good mix of already published books and ARCs, so hopefully you’ll be inspired to pick up a good book!

Let’s start off with the ARCs…

The Girls in the Picture by Melanie Benjamin (out January 16, 2018)

I’m very excited to read this book! Benjamin wrote The Aviator’s Wife, about the wife of Charles Lindbergh, and it was fantastic. This book should be more of the same as it’s a fictional account of Old Hollywood stars Frances Marion and Mary Pickford.

Need to Know by Karen Cleveland (out January 23, 2018)

This is a debut novel from an actual former CIA analyst. Need to Know explores one woman’s work to uncover Russian sleeper cells and the ways in which it affects her personal life. This book is already receiving much buzz and there are talks of a movie deal! Stay tuned for my review in the next few weeks.

The Widows of Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey (out January 9, 2018)

This is the first book in a new series about a female lawyer in India in the 1920s who is investigating a mysterious will. I’m definitely on board with more women of color leads in fiction! I first heard about this book on Book Riot’s Read or Dead podcast, which is dedicated to mysteries and thrillers. Stay tuned for my review in the next few weeks!

The Wife by Alafair Burke (out January 23, 2018)

This is a sequel to The Ex, which I have not read. The Wife contains one of my favorite tropes: the couple who keeps secrets from each other. I haven’t decided if I’ll try to read The Ex first, and might instead see if this can be read as a stand-alone.

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn (out January 2, 2018)

This is Finn’s debut novel and wow, am I already hooked! With comparisons to Rear Window and Gone Girl, I think this book will easily live on my favorite books of all time list. Should it live up to the hype, that is. I’ll definitely be reviewing this book so stay tuned!

And finally, the books that are already published:

The Burning Girl by Claire Messud

This book is a coming of age story that chronicles the friendship of two girls and questions the depths to which anyone can either know their own self or anyone else. Messud’s written quite a few buzzy books in the past and I’m definitely intrigued by this premise!

The Mitford Murders by Jessica Fellowes

This is a fictional take on the famous Mitford sisters, written by the niece of Julian Fellowes, no less! This book will be perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and I expect it to be quite the fun read. Stay tuned for my review in the next few weeks!

A Secret History of Witches by Louisa Morgan

This book sounds right up my alley! It’s about five generations of witches and their struggles to protect themselves and the world. I’ve heard great things and I’m excited to read this book!

Sing, Unburied Sing by Jesmyn Ward

This book was much buzzed this year and recently won the National Book Award! Ward writes an intimate portrait of a Southern family and the failed promises of the American dream. I’m incredibly excited to read this book and I’ll share my review in the next few weeks!

The Strays by Emily Bitto

I first heard about this book on the Reading Women podcast and I’m excited to read it! This is a coming of age story about a young girl living in 1930s Australia with her family on an artist commune. The Strays focuses on female friendship which is something I can never get enough of!

Tell Me Everything You Don’t Remember by Christine Hyung-Oak Lee

I also heard about this book on the Reading Women podcast. This memoir tells the story of one woman’s life after a stroke at age 33. I can’t imagine feeling like I’m finally coming into my own as an adult, only to have such a long-lasting incident occur. I hear this book is poignant and beautifully written and I greatly look forward to reading it.

Uncommon Type by Tom Hanks

Yes, this book is by that Tom Hanks. I’ve heard mixed things about this short story collection, ranging from “fantastic!” to “ehh mediocre.” I’m guessing this won’t be Hanks’s last foray into writing. Stay tuned for my review next month!

The Vanishing Season by Joanna Schaffhausen

This book tells the story of a police officer whose past comes back to haunt her. After surviving a gruesome attack, other people in her life start disappearing and she knows it’s all connected. This sounds like quite the dark read but it’s supposed to be quite good! Stay tuned for my review in the next few weeks.

What Happened by Hillary Rodham Clinton

I’ve been psyching myself up to read this book ever since it came out in September. I already know it’s going to lead me on a rollercoaster of emotions and I cannot wait to finally dive in next month. Stay tuned for a very heartfelt review!

That’s all for now! What books did you pick up this month?

I am an affiliate with Book Depository and as such, receive a tiny commission should you choose to click through any of the above links and purchase the book(s). Thank you for supporting A Word is Power!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s