Gift Guide 2017: For the Historical Fiction Reader

Hi, readers!

Today I’m sharing my gift guide for historical fiction readers. I have four books to share with you! I read and loved all of these books this year and there’s a 2017 new release mixed in with some previously published favorites.

Up first, we have The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid. Husbands is a fabulous new release this year that completely deserves all its praise and publicity. Over the course of this novel, the famous and fictitious Evelyn shares her life story and the seven husbands along the way. This book is funny, heartwarming, and surprising. You can expect to see this book a few times in the upcoming weeks in some more blog posts—I loved it that much! Husbands is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies, classic Old Hollywood movies, and family dramas. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is available here from Book Depository.

Next is The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. Nightingale came out in 2015 but is still a popular and phenomenal read. Nightingale tells the tale of two sisters living in Nazi-occupied France. This book is heartbreaking, courageous, and inspiring. It’s perfect for fans of Little Women, Lilac Girls, and The Summer Before the War. The Nightingale is available here from Book Depository.

Up next is A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles. Gentleman came out last year but, much like Nightingale, remains incredibly popular. This is Towles’s second book, and chronicles the life of a man sentenced to spend the rest of his days in a Moscow hotel in the 1920s. Gentleman is cozy, charming, and adventurous. This makes an excellent book for winter reading and is perfect for fans of Rules of Civility, The Lonely Hearts Hotel, and The Time in Between. A Gentleman in Moscow is available here from Book Depository.

Finally, we have The White Princess by Philippa Gregory. First published in 2013, Princess continues Gregory’s series about the Plantagenets and Tudors. In this volume, Gregory tells the story of Elizabeth of York, forced to marry Henry IV. Princess is engaging, adventurous, and rife with historically accurate details. The White Princess is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, The Crown series on Netflix, and the A Court of Thorns and Roses series. It is available here from Book Depository.

That’s it for this gift guide! I have one more upcoming gift guide to help with holiday shopping. I’ll be sharing that next week! Have you read any of these historical fiction favs? What books are on your wish list this year?

I am an affiliate with Book Depository and as such, receive a tiny commission should you choose to click through any of the above links and purchase the book(s). Thank you for supporting A Word is Power!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s