Gift Guide 2017: For the Mystery Reader

Hi, readers!

Today I’m sharing my book recommendations for mystery readers. I have six books to share today! I’m a big fan of mysteries and thrillers and am always happy to talk about the books below. I’ve read and loved them all!

Up first, we have Since We Fell by Dennis Lehane. Lehane is a seasoned mystery/thriller writer and this book, his newest, came out earlier this year. You might recognize some of his earlier works, including Gone Baby Gone, Mystic River, and Shutter Island. Since We Fell is a great play on the mysterious, riddled with secrets couple trope as one woman starts to question everything she knows about her husband. I can promise you that however you think it’s going to end, you’ll be utterly wrong! This book is perfect for Scorsese fans or anyone who enjoys Leonardo DiCaprio’s films (I say this because he’d be perfect as the male lead!) Since We Fell is available here from Book Depository.

Next, we have Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz. Magpie Murders came out earlier this year and remained popular ever since. This is a wonderfully crafted novel that contains a murder mystery within the murder mystery! Horowitz takes on Agatha Christie’s signature: the locked room mystery. Previously, Horowitz wrote for the television series Foyle’s War, Poirot, and Midsomer Murders. This book is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and classic Hitchcock films, and would make an excellent gift for anyone who recently read and/or saw Murder on the Orient Express. Magpie Murders is available here from Book Depository.

Next, we have Bonfire by Krysten Ritter. As I’ve previously reviewed this novel here on the blog, which you can read here, I won’t add much more. But I will say that this book would be perfect for fans of the Netflix series Jessica Jones or the television series The Killing. Bonfire is available here from Book Depository.

Next is Broken Harbor by Tana French. Broken Harbor is a quiet novel about the devastating assault of a wife and the murders of the husband and their two children. French crafted an excellent series with her Dublin Murder Squad books and Broken Harbor continues to blend police drama with psychological suspense. Tana French readers will probably want to read something warm and cuddly after finishing this book! Broken Harbor is perfect for fans of J.T. Ellison and Ruth Ware. Broken Harbor is available here from Book Depository.

Up next is Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood. Alias Grace was recently made into a miniseries on Netflix, and I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed the show but has not yet read the book. Alias Grace is based on the true story of a servant found guilty of murdering her master and head housekeeper, contains the signature Margaret Atwood plot twist, and consistently questions the effects of the patriarchy on powerless women and girls. Alias Grace is great for fans of Game of Thrones or true crime stories. Alias Grace is available here from Book Depository.

Last but not least, we have a classic from the Queen of mystery herself: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. When ten strangers are mysteriously summoned to an island, none of the guests are too concerned. That is, until they start dying one by one. This book would make a great next read for fans of Murder on the Orient Express or Sherlock Holmes. And Then There Were None is available here from Book Depository.

That’s it for today’s gift guide! I have a few more guides coming in the next few weeks to help with holiday shopping. Have you read any of these mystery reads? What mystery novel would you recommend?

I am an affiliate with Book Depository. As such, I do receive a tiny commission should you choose to click through any of the above links and purchase the book(s). Thank you for supporting A Word is Power!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s